Mathew Pencharz NED

Non-Executive Director

Matthew was appointed Environment Advisor following the Mayor's re-election in May 2012 to lead the GLA and its functional bodies' work with relation to carbon emissions reduction, a secure and affordable energy supply, improving air quality, the protection, improvement and creation of green space, waste policy, water efficiency and drainage and making London more resilient in the face of more frequent extreme weather.

He has since been appointed Deputy Mayor for Environment and Energy following taking on responsibility for the Smart London Board, chairing the London Hydrogen Partnership and a leading role in the co-ordination of utilities' works for London's Opportunity Areas through the Infrastructure Delivery Board.

The Mayor has appointed Matthew as his Independent Member on the London Waste and Recycling Board, to the London Green Fund Investment Committee and the Infrastructure Delivery Board. He has also been appointed to the Board of the Old Oak Common and Park Royal Development Corporation. Matthew is the Mayor's nominee on the Steering Committee of the C40 Climate Leadership Group and has been appointed to be one of the Steering Committee's representatives to the C40Management Board, where he serves as Board Secretary.

Matthew first joined the Mayor's team at City Hall from the BBC in November 2009. He worked on the network section of Politics Show, focussing primarily on environment and energy stories, and was latterly responsible for the political output of BBC Breakfast. He had worked previously at the London Borough of Barnet, where he started work on the Council's ground-breaking compulsory recycling scheme, and at the House of Commons.

He has lived in London most of his life. Having grown up in north London, he's now crossed the Thames and cycles into City Hall from Brixton.

Meet the Team

  • Janene Dooler

    Janene Dooler


    & Strategy Director

  • Geoff Hoon

    Geoff Hoon

    RT HON

    Non-Executive Director

  • Danny Jones

    Danny Jones


    Founder & CEO

  • Mathew Pencharz

    Mathew Pencharz


    Non-Executive Director

  • Danny Jones

    Prof. David Sallah


    Non-Executive Director

  • Danny Jones

    Kathryn Sallah


    Non-Executive Director

  • Danny Jones

    Reza Sheybani


    Non-Executive Director

  • Daniel Templmen

    Daniel Templeman


    Non-Executive Director

Complete the form below to receive further information.

Request brochure

Some of the many clients Off Grid Energy are proud to work with…..

© 2013 Off Grid Energy Limited :: Terms & Conditions :: Privacy Policy
Off Grid Energy Ltd Registered in England & Wales No: 428 1871 VAT Reg No: 739 471 795 Web Design by Oxygen
Off Grid Energy on Twitter Off Grid on Linked In